9.2 Design Workflow
A combination of Reporting Units (RUs) and Collaborations objects allows sharing of data between agencies. A group of agencies can work together as part of a Care Circle. Sharing data is temporary and once sharing is ended, the agency to which the data was shared will not retain a copy of the information. The information always belongs to the source agency, and the source agency can stop sharing the information at any time. If the agency to which the data was shared would like to retain a copy of the information, they must create similar records for a duplicate entry of the person created for their own agency. MVP will not support copying data between agencies.
Two-way data sharing as described in Scenario 2 exemplified in this section. Figure 9.2.a shows where the RU feature will be added to the Settings for Organization Administrators to utilize. In this example, a PCBH agency Organization Administrators can see two RUs. RU 1 is created by the Org Amin’s own PCBH agency. RU 2 was created by a partner agency FCA. The PCBH agency can see the second RU in their list because the FCA agency added PCBH to the RU that FCA created as a partner agency.
Figure 9.2.a Settings > Reporting Unit
Figure 9.2.b provides an example of a potential workflow for two-way data sharing between Agency 1 and Agency 2. These steps are described in detail in the remainder of the chapter, as referenced by supporting figures. In essence, each agency creates a collaboration for which they will assign people for sharing, if an appropriate collaboration for sharing does not already exist. Each agency assigns people to the sharing collaboration using a person-specific start date for the person-collaboration start, which represents the date for which the sharing of data should begin for that person. Agency 1 has agreed to be the Principal for the creation of the RU, although each agency could create their own if desired. In the example where Agency 1 leads the creation of a single RU, Agency 2 waits for Agency 1 to create the RU and add Agency 2 as a Partner Agency.
Once Agency 2 is added as a Partner, then Organization Administrators of Agency 2 will see the RU led by Agency 1 in their Settings with Agency 1 as the Principal Agency (see Figure 2.0.a). At this time Agency 2 can edit the RU to add their own collaborations back for sharing (see Figure 2.1.c) via the +Add Collaboration link. Agency 2 can only add their own collaborations to an Agency 1 led RU. Agency 2 cannot add collaborations from the Principal agency or any other partner agencies. Only their own collaborations appear for selection or modification. Other than adding or modifying their own collaborations for the RU, all other fields will be disabled and not available for editing for a Partner Agency. Only a Principal Agency can edit the other fields.
Once collaborations are added to an RU, all Principal and partner agency Organization Administrators can see all active people in the shared collaborations. Some sort of badge in the People table identifies which records are from a shared agency. If sharing was given with “Historical View,” then Org Amins can also see all inactive people who once participated in those collaborations but who now have lapsed collaboration end dates, as well. Supervisors and Helpers only see people actively participating in the collaboration (without a lapsed end date).
When staff from a partner agency access a shared person, they will have limited access to information for that shared person. The partner agency will see the profile, but Organization Administrators, Supervisors and Helpers from the shared agency will only be able to modify the assigned Helpers from their own agency for that person. All other profile information will be locked to edits for a partner agency. In the person’s Questionnaires tab, partner agency staff will see only the questionnaires assigned to the shared collaboration(s). They will only see the assessment within the window of the start and end dates of that collaboration window (plus the buffer zone identified by the Remind schedule associated with the questionnaire). They will only be able to see the Notifications associated with the assessments from the questionnaires assigned to the shared collaboration(s). They will only be able to see the Reports for the assessments from the questionnaires assigned to the shared collaboration(s). If the partner agency was added to the RU with Read/Write general access and if the sharing agency shared the collaboration with Read/Write Given access, then the partner agency will also have the ability to create, edit, and delete assessments from the questionnaires assigned to the shared collaboration(s). (Note: It is desired that non-source agencies be blocked from seeing any responses marked as confidential. If a question is marked as confidential it acts like a toggle for all responses before or after the date it was marked as confidential. The question and responses remain confidential until it is switched back to non-confidential. While it is in confidential mode, no non-source agencies should be able to access prior responses to that question nor provide any responses in new assessments for that question. This is not required for MVP but should be planned for Rev 2.)
Figure 9.2.a Workflow for Sharing Data